Screen Resolution Bug

Topics about the system utilities that are not related to Hard-disk and storage
digifuzzy
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Oct 2014, 12:19

Screen Resolution Bug

Postby digifuzzy » 27 Oct 2014, 12:40

uname: Linux 3.17.1-1-ARCH x86_64
ver: systemrescuecd-x86-4.4.0

Using in QEMU (ver 2.1.2) to trial funtoo install.
I selected option C (Standard 64bit kernel with more choice) in first menu.
I then selected option 3 (SystemRescueCd with console in high resolution - 1024x768)

Start up would proceed normally. Entering "startx" would bring up the desktop but with resolution problems.
The monitor/window size is reported as being 1280x768 however the desktop appears larger requiring the mouse to be used to scroll the desktop up/down to show the toolbar or top of window. (viewport/window size is smaller than desktop size)

Changing the settings for either the monitor or desktop size to 1024x768 fixes the issue.
This seems to be a bug in how resolution is being set at start of desktop environment. Or the problem is just related to QEMU and only when high resolution console is selected.

Thoughts?

vanepp
Posts: 85
Joined: 22 Jun 2012, 02:24

Re: Screen Resolution Bug

Postby vanepp » 27 Oct 2014, 20:13

As a data point (I'm not particularly X literate) I use nomodeset VGA=791 (aka SystemRescueCd with console in high resolution - 1024x768) to set
my LCD to 1024*768 rather than its default high res mode that ny old eyes can't read and have no problems. X comes up in 1024*768 for me just fine. I'm
booting native on a 64 bit AMD machine.Assuming QEMU is a virtual system
of some kind I'd look there for your problem. If possible boot native on your machine and see if works as expected in case of a video card querk of some kind. Another possibility is grub2 (assuming you are using grub2), it has a
command (that I have never been able to get to work) that will pass a resolution
to the kernel in theory. I'm using grub2 and it tells me vga=791 is depreciated but works just fine.

Peter Van Epp

digifuzzy
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Oct 2014, 12:19

Re: Screen Resolution Bug

Postby digifuzzy » 27 Oct 2014, 22:47

vanepp wrote:If possible boot native on your machine and see if works as expected in case of a video card querk of some kind.

That was my next step to try after "playing"/educating myself with funtoo install.

I'm using AMD bulldozer 6core processor w/ Saphire (AMD/ATI) Radeon HD 6450 card.
I don't recall having issues natively in the pass when booting with the CD. But I will attempt shortly.

Thanks

digifuzzy
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Oct 2014, 12:19

[Work Around] Screen Resolution Bug

Postby digifuzzy » 28 Oct 2014, 22:46

I can confirm on booting SystemRescueCD with the steps described above that the Desktop will come up as 1280x1024.
On a monitor this shouldn't be a problem.

However, in QEMU (VM environment) the window is sized at 1024x768 in the console.
When going to a desktop the horizontal is resized correctly to 1280 but the vertical gets stuck at 768 (1280x768).

Seems strange that the desktop will want to resize itself larger than the console settings. Not a problem - just a quirk I guess.

Thx

vanepp
Posts: 85
Joined: 22 Jun 2012, 02:24

Re: Screen Resolution Bug

Postby vanepp » 28 Oct 2014, 23:03

Looks like I'm guilty of assuming. Because the screen is similar in size to
the console I'd assumed it was 1024*768 in X, but a check of monitor settings
says it is actually 1280*1024 (this is on a 27 inch LCD). This is still better than
the 1800* something that it defaults to but equally not what the vga=791 setting should be providing.

Peter Van Epp


Return to “System software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests