partition cloning question

Topics about disk partitioning (fdisk, parted, gparted, partimage), Volumes Management (lvm, evms, dmraid), Storage, file systems, ...
BabaG

partition cloning question

Postby BabaG » 16 Mar 2016, 18:05

i have a system disk i want to clone before upgrading to w10. the disk is in a hackintosh box and contains several partitions:

osx
user home for osx
w7
user home for w7

i've been using this system for a couple of years now and don't remember exactly how everything was set up originally. i've followed an online tutorial in the past on simpler systems and had no problem cloning a partition or disk:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gh6cnP4rP7Y

in this case i felt i should ask first regarding the sizes of various parameters. can i use default settings for both systems (osx ans w7) or do i need to find out how each is set up and enter specific parameters for each? i'm thinking specifically about things like:

block size
bitmap size
bytes per sector
sectors per cluster
file record size

per the tutorial, i also have copied the mbr using bs=512. also not sure if that is always going to be appropriate or if things may be different in a different system. fwiw, i'm wanting to clone a 250gb ssd to a 500gb ssd.

thanks for any clarification on these questions,
BabaG

vanepp

Re: partition cloning question

Postby vanepp » 17 Mar 2016, 01:01

Probably the first thing you want to do is run either parted (or startx and run gparted which is the graphical version) to see what your
partition table looks like now and to see if it is msdos (in which case a dd if=/dev/sdx of=filename bs=512 count=64 will back it up
to filename if you replace /dev/sdx with the appropriate drive such as /dev/sda) or is gpt in which case you need to use sgdisk as
gpt is more complex than the old msdos format. I don't know anything about OS X, so I can't offer help there but Win7 has several