ar_source fails to mount becuase rpc.statd isn't running

Topics about the networking software (ssh, nfs, samba, ...). No questions about network drivers there.
xtronics
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Aug 2011, 06:46

ar_source fails to mount becuase rpc.statd isn't running

Postby xtronics » 18 Aug 2011, 06:54

Can't work around with initsrcipt=rpc.statd:start either.

I can start manually - sort of defeats the purpose...


linux /boot/systemrescuecd/syslinux/rescuecd setkmap=us docache subdir=boot/systemrescuecd run=/etc/init.d/rpc.statd start ar_source=nfs://192.1688.1.1:/home/installs/sysrcd
initrd /boot/systemrescuecd/syslinux/initram.igz

From systemrescuecd-x86-2.3.0.iso

Just needs rpc.statd in a run level to fix...

xtronics
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Aug 2011, 06:46

Re: ar_source fails to mount becuase rpc.statd isn't running

Postby xtronics » 18 Aug 2011, 23:00

I made a custom version with rpc.statd in the default run-level - did not start in order.

So then I tried putting a line in /usr/sbin/autorun to start it and I got :

"error: cannot start rpc.statd as rpcbind would not start"

so autorun still failed to start.

Later, after autorun fails I see the rpc.statd starting.

and then I can run autorun manually ...

I'm thinking something has not completed starting that needs to be running for rpcbind (that is called to start by rpc.statd ).

strohel
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 23:22

Re: ar_source fails to mount becuase rpc.statd isn't running

Postby strohel » 02 Jan 2013, 23:24

Please see viewtopic.php?f=24&t=4121 which is esentially the same error and contains more info and work-around.


Return to “Networking (except PXE booting)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests