BIOS flashing via PXE

Topics about the networking software (ssh, nfs, samba, ...). No questions about network drivers there.
rs232
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 16:34

BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby rs232 » 10 Nov 2010, 16:39

Hi all, I've been trying to boot an iso image with dos and a directory with the latest BIOS images for both motherboard and RAID card.
I can happily boot a bootable CD but when it comes to create my own it just doesn't work.
Does anybody have experience running dos for firmware upgrade via PXE?

Regards

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby gernot » 10 Nov 2010, 17:22

i have no experience with bios update over PXE.
It shold be easy to load a updater-floppyimage using memdisk like the other floppyimages on sysrcd.

Is flashrom (on sysrcd) an option?
Want you to build your own bootCD or start a custom envirement about network?

Gernot.

rs232
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 16:34

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby rs232 » 11 Nov 2010, 09:28

Thanks for the replay.
I admit I'm new to PXE so I'm just exploring the functionality/limits.

I've managed to boot few ISO using config like this one:

LABEL UBCD
MENU LABEL Ultimate Boot CD
kernel memdisk
APPEND iso initrd=UBCD.iso raw

*most* of the CD work find but not all all of them. I think what I need to clarify myself on is:
When I create a bootCD (I use ultraISO at the moment but I guess any ISO software would do) I need the boot files plus the content of the CD itself don't I?

So per say, I'd like to upgrade the firmware of my Adaptec 2405 raid controller. I add the boot files (bootdos.img) to UltraISO (using the function load boot files) and I add the "2405" firmware directory manually to create an ISO that way. However when I boot up from this ISO I can't see the 2405 directory. The boot file I'm using are from DOS (tried different versions) and after the bootstrap it goes directly into A:\

Does the ISO filesystem need to be "mounted" to be seen?

Regards

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby gernot » 11 Nov 2010, 12:36

Thats a lot of emulation layers. A memdisk which emulates a CD which emulates a floppy which access a emulated CD......
There are so manny points of failure.

Cant you mount the DOS-floopyimage , write the romimage to the mounted floppyimeage?
Then simple use memdisk to boot the floppyimage.

Gernot

rs232
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 16:34

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby rs232 » 11 Nov 2010, 12:45

You're right lot of emulations!
The main point is: floppy image is limited to 1.44Mb where the firmware itself is 8Mb.

I did some testing, and I think the problem is mounting the ISO itself with eltorito.
In the floppy the first line of the autoexec.bat is:

MSCDEX.EXE /D:MSCD0001 /L:X

It seems to mount it properly, but if I go into X: it says error/abort/fail or something.

Is this a filesystem problem or just eltorito not designed to use a network ISO?

Cheers

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby gernot » 11 Nov 2010, 16:22

edit: eltorito.sys shold work if its on the floppyimage and loaded via
device=eltorito.sys /X:MSCD0001
in config.sys

Using memdisk with a small harddiskimage can be a solution too.
http://syslinux.zytor.com/wiki/index.ph ... isk_images

Gernot

rs232
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 16:34

Re: BIOS flashing via PXE

Postby rs232 » 12 Nov 2010, 13:07

I gave up on eltorito, I'm not quite sure what the problem is.

The good news is: i've solved using a superfloppy image (20Mb) where I'm happily storing my firmware.

Thanks for the support! :-)


Return to “Networking (except PXE booting)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests