boot option vncserver do nothing

Topics about the networking software (ssh, nfs, samba, ...). No questions about network drivers there.
rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 26 Jun 2010, 14:39

Hi,

I started to configure an 12 machine VirtualBox environment with SysRescCD 1.5.6 for a complex
networking test (bonding, Cisco HSRP with dynamips, etc.) I modified syslinux.cfg.
I put in my boot option "vncserver=2,passwd" and I can't see running any vnc related processes.
Even in X session. What could be the problem?

My Kernel command line: scandelay=1 setkmap=hu nonm nodhcp rootpass=
root vncserver=2,root eth0=10.120.3.4/24 nameif=eth0!08:00:27:99:1E:C6,eth1!08:0
0:27:D5:D4:08 gateway=10.120.3.254 initrd=initram.igz BOOT_IMAGE=rescuecd

BTW: nodhcp is not enough if there is DHCP server on LAN and don't want to use it. In my
solution I have to combine with nonm boot parameter.

My next task is: understand and configure startup scripting tailor hostname, bonding, etc.

TIA,
Last edited by rattila on 27 Jun 2010, 18:50, edited 1 time in total.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: boot option vncserver do nothin

Postby admin » 26 Jun 2010, 20:28

The separator in the vncserver option is incorrect, you have to use a colon instead of a comma
Can you try again ?

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 27 Jun 2010, 18:39

I changed to "vncserver=2:root" and nothing changed.
No running vnc related process and nothing is listening on any vnc port. :-(

What can I see in my rescuecd machine for this parameter?

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby gernot » 27 Jun 2010, 18:59

Try a longer password

http://www.sysresccd.org/news/2008/04/1 ... nc-server/
-----------------------
ervice by hand, or use the new “vncserver=x:password” option (x is the number of displays you want). The password must be between 5 and 8 characters, else the boot option is ignored.
---------------------

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 27 Jun 2010, 19:07

Ohh, something happened!
I show a notice about vncpassword in the running lines but I can't copy it because it was scrolled out and I don't know how can I copy the text from VBox console.

vncserver wasn't started.

The message is something like this: chown cannot access 'root/.vnc/passwd' No such file or directory.
So the first problem disappeared - short password - and I found a new one.

TIA,

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby gernot » 27 Jun 2010, 19:42

The message is
---------------------------------------
* Performing the SystemRescueCd specific initializations ...
chmod: cannot access `/root/.vnc/passwd': No such file or directory
* Caching service dependencies ... [
* There are no passwords defined for user root.
* ERROR: tigervnc failed to start
* Starting SystemRescueCd autorun scripts ...
-----------------------------------------

I start gpm to copy consolemessages with the mouse in textmode.

Gernot

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 27 Jun 2010, 19:52

Maybe like those.

I think the gpm wouldn't be enough copying from VBox console.

TIA,

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby admin » 28 Jun 2010, 20:06

I tested the "vncserver" boot option in sysresccd-1.5.7-beta8 and it worked for me.
So it's not just broken in that release. We have to find what the problem is.
The "/etc/init.d/sysresccd" service logs things in /var/log/vncserver.log, can you check this log file ?

You can also add debugging messages in /etc/init.d/sysresccd and restart that service manually to see what happens.

I have also improved that script (that configures the VNC server) in sysresccd-1.5.7-beta9 to print an explicit error message when the syntax is not respected (eg: password too short)

When the service is working, it listens on port 5901, 5902, ... (one port used by each display). You can see if there is a service listening on these ports:
netstat -tanpul | grep LISTEN | grep 590

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby gernot » 29 Jun 2010, 04:31

the vncserver fails when tha password is exakt 5 chars long.
In this case there is no /root/.vnc/password file.

Gernot

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby admin » 29 Jun 2010, 07:20

Many thanks, it has been fixed in sysresccd-1.5.7-beta9
The service will now accept passwords between 6 and 12 chars
An explicit error message will be displayed and logged if syntax is wrong
I have also updated the documentation (wiki + news)

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 29 Jun 2010, 19:57

gernot wrote:the vncserver fails when tha password is exakt 5 chars long.
In this case there is no /root/.vnc/password file.

I tested 1.5.6 with "2:rroott" parameter. It is six characters now.
There aren't any error messages either running vncservers ...

TIA,

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby gernot » 29 Jun 2010, 20:16

try the actual beta. There are debugmessages for vncserver.
For me vncserver=2:rroott works.
Check your interface with ifconfig.
If the net is down although you configurated manual try the "nonm" option.

Gernot

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 29 Jun 2010, 20:20

OK.
I downloaded beta8, not 9.

My networking setup parameters you can check in my first letter.

rattila
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Jun 2010, 14:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: boot option vncserver do nothing

Postby rattila » 01 Jul 2010, 17:10

1.5.7-beta8 seems good for me.
I haven't tested with any vnc client, yet. I checked netstat and ps and I could see open ports at 590x and a message something like this: "Starting TightVNC ...".

TIA,


Return to “Networking (except PXE booting)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests