Page 1 of 1

No wireless network

Posted: 14 Oct 2012, 11:29
by synack
Hi,

I've managed to get my Macbook pro to boot. When I type 'ifconfig' there is an entry for the ethernet adapter (eth0) one for the loopback (lo) but the wireless one is missing. I have run 'lspci' and the kernel module for my wireless adapter seems to be loaded. It's an Airport Extreme card that uses the Broadcom B43 driver. Usually using gentoo I would navigate to /etc/init.d and create a symbolic link to 'net.lo' but 'net.lo' is not in the directory. I did try and run X to use NetworkManager, but X crashes and dies (I'm not sure but it either has something to do with the hardware or the boot options I selected in Grub) The X.org log file has the entry;

Code: Select all

(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

fatal server error:
 
no screens found


I don't seem to be having much luck with this Macbook pro..

synack

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 15 Oct 2012, 04:27
by gernot
Tried you the wizard to start x?
Work booting in vesa mode.

lists "ifconfig -a" or iwconfig the wlan device?

Gernot

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 12 Jan 2013, 08:41
by virtuemart1
I got similar problem with wireless network.

First, I can connect to internet with LAN WIRE cable. I can see the icon at the bottom right side.
From the icon at the bottom right side, I can do enable/disable network configure.

But now I would like to know howto connect wireLESS ,
like above post said, I need to type command to setup wireless network manually?
I pretty sure the driver of the hardware PCI card was loaded. I can tell by lsmod / lspci command

Thank you

version: 2.4

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 12 Jan 2013, 11:11
by gernot
You can check the wlan interface with "iwconfig"
Check that the hardware wlan switch is on.
If your card work Networkmanager should list the ssid's found.

Use dmesg|less to get kernel messages while startup.

Try a newer sysresccd version with new hardware.

Gernot

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 12 Jan 2013, 13:07
by virtuemart1
Thank you so much for reply

The reason I using version 2.4 because of the MOZILLA FIREFOX BROWSER which
support multi language!

I understand that the latest is 3.2

Can anyone able to tell me WHICH VERSION was latest where BROWSER is MOZILLA FIREFOX ?

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 16 Jan 2013, 05:11
by virtuemart1
Anyone if the rescue CD disc support RALINK chip ? It is wireless chip.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ralink

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 16 Jan 2013, 05:29
by gernot
Which Dalink device have you?
I use sysrcd with ralink RT2800 chip.

Gernot

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 16 Jan 2013, 06:09
by virtuemart1
http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/wireless/lbc/WMP600N

Linksys Cisco WMP600N


Also, what version of CD disc you using? 3.2


All right, I testED in 2.4 and NO need to install driver


Code: Select all

Network controller: RaLink RT2800 802.11n PCI
   Subsystem: Linksys Device 0067
   Flags: bus master, slow devsel, latency 16, IRQ 3
   Memory at febf0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
   Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci
   Kernel modules: rt2800pci

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 17 Jan 2013, 15:50
by gernot
I tested with 3.0
Look like your device use a rt2860 chipset.
Check the output of dmesg for the deviceID to be sure.

Gernot

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 20 Jan 2013, 04:33
by virtuemart1

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 24 Feb 2013, 00:22
by virtuemart1
Which Dalink device have you?

You think kernel have driver AR5212 chip ?
http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutio ... n-pci-card

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 24 Feb 2013, 09:17
by gernot
No, There are no kernel drivers. Both cards work with madwifi driver. http://madwifi-project.org/
Sysrcd comes with ndiswrapper so you can use the Windowsdriver to use the devices.

Gernot

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 22 Mar 2013, 15:48
by fdservices
I am also having problems on my HP DM1 notebook.

The wireless is provided by a Broadcom BCM4312 chip. Interestingly the Bluetooth chip show up in the hardware list but not the wireless chip.

Is there anything I can do to enable the wireless network. I do have persistence if that is of use.

Thanks

Andrew

Re: No wireless network

Posted: 22 Mar 2013, 16:06
by gernot
You can use ndiswrapper with the Windows driver.

There is also a proprietary Broadcom driver.

Gernot