How to load the comlete iso via pxe? [solved]

Questions related to network booting via PXE
wirehead
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Aug 2012, 19:25

How to load the comlete iso via pxe? [solved]

Postby wirehead » 03 Aug 2012, 20:00

Hi there - I'm pxebooting a customized system rescue cd from a pre-existing PXE server, not from sysrescuecd's pxe.

I have it working, in that it boots all the way, but some things are missing.

I have made changes to /etc/profile such as adding aliases and running a script, but they aren't present once the system has booted. I also added them to root's .bashrc and that didn't seem to work.

Basically all I'm trying to accomplish is to set an alias: "alias menu=/root/menu.sh" and to automatically run that same script once boot has finished.

I tried using the "autorun" file in / of the custom iso, but this runs very early in the boot process and the user does not get to see the output of the items run from menu.sh since once it completes, boot resumes.

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: How to load the comlete iso via pxe?

Postby gernot » 03 Aug 2012, 20:34

sysrcd dont use bash. Use autorun to create a custom /root/.zlogin .
.zlogin is executed from zsh like .bashrc from bash.

Gernot

wirehead
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Aug 2012, 19:25

Re: How to load the comlete iso via pxe?

Postby wirehead » 03 Aug 2012, 21:08

Perfect, that is exactly what I needed.

Thanks for the quick response.

It didn't even occur to me to do something with .zlogin - I don't have much experience outside of bash.

Thanks again.


Return to “Network Boot via PXE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests