Will not boot with 8Gig of RAM in box

Post in this forum for problems at boot time, if there was no problem for burning the disc. For example can't find the CD, or strange errors when you press enter at the very first prompt.
seasonedgeek
Posts: 6
Joined: 12 Jun 2010, 15:30

Will not boot with 8Gig of RAM in box

Postby seasonedgeek » 12 Jun 2010, 15:32

Nothing I try will get this thing to boot on a box with 8Gig of RAM. The menu comes up and lets me choose the items to boot, even tweak parameters, but even the old cheat of "mem=2G" on the 64-bit version won't make this boot. Always dies at Unpacking initramfs.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2707
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: Will not boot with 8Gig of RAM in box

Postby admin » 17 Jun 2010, 17:47

1) Check your ISO / media is not corrupt using md5sum, or install it on a USB stick
2) Did you try the alternative kernels ?
3) You can run "memtest" (from the same menu) to check you memory is not broken

danieljones2006
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Jun 2010, 16:30
Location: suite no.-20, apartment-5, Near W21st street,Zenia,California-95595
Contact:

Re: Will not boot with 8Gig of RAM in box

Postby danieljones2006 » 18 Jun 2010, 15:17

First of all check the RAM slots. Check if it is fine. Also check if your motherboard is compatible to handle 8 GB RAM. Do check the frequency/bit rate your mother board is compatible with. Different frequency/bit rates won't work.


Return to “Boot problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests