SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Post in this forum for problems at boot time, if there was no problem for burning the disc. For example can't find the CD, or strange errors when you press enter at the very first prompt.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 14 Mar 2010, 21:14

Ok, so there is nothing wrong with the new /init boot script.

It could be a corruption of the ISO image or of the kernel image. You can try with another kernel image to see if it makes a difference (rescuecd, rescue64, altker32, altker64), and check the md5sum of the ISO is correct.

If the problem is not a corruption of the kernel image it's a grub issue, or a problem with your filesystem. You can put this file on any other partition of your disk that Grub2 can see (most non encrypted filesystems including LVM volumes). Try with a very standard ext3 filesystem maybe, I just guess that Grub2 could have bug when it reads very recent filesystems (ext4 with new features). So just put the ISO on another partition and change the root(disk, part) to the appropriate grub device.

You can also reinstall Grub2, but is sounds we have the same version. I am using 1.98-1 on Debian.

mir
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 20:23

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby mir » 14 Mar 2010, 22:47

admin wrote:It could be a corruption of the ISO image or of the kernel image. You can try with another kernel image to see if it makes a difference (rescuecd, rescue64, altker32, altker64), and check the md5sum of the ISO is correct.

Already have tried all available kernel images. md5sum is correct and ISO boots find direct from CD or if I unpack the ISO to a local folder. The same applies both for 1.4.0 and 1.5.0-beta so I guess we can rule out a corrupt ISO and/or kernel images
admin wrote:If the problem is not a corruption of the kernel image it's a grub issue, or a problem with your filesystem. You can put this file on any other partition of your disk that Grub2 can see (most non encrypted filesystems including LVM volumes). Try with a very standard ext3 filesystem maybe, I just guess that Grub2 could have bug when it reads very recent filesystems (ext4 with new features). So just put the ISO on another partition and change the root(disk, part) to the appropriate grub device.

You can also reinstall Grub2, but is sounds we have the same version. I am using 1.98-1 on Debian.

The file system on my boot partition is, for the same reasons, a plain old ext3 and I do not use LVM. I am therefore tempted to opt for a hw-issue or a combined hw/BIOS/grub2 issue.

Stats:
----- /proc/cpuinfo -----
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 23
model name : Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E6300 @ 2.80GHz
stepping : 10
cpu MHz : 1596.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 13
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm xsave lahf_lm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips : 5599.54
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 23
model name : Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E6300 @ 2.80GHz
stepping : 10
cpu MHz : 1596.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 13
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm xsave lahf_lm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips : 5599.80
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

----- /proc/cpuinfo end -----

scsi cache: 0x00
block: name = sda, path = /class/block/sda
dev = 8:0
range = 16
block device: bus = scsi, bus_id = 0:0:0:0 driver = sd
path = /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.2/host0/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0
vendor = ATA
model = SAMSUNG HD103SI
rev = 1AG0
type = 0
>> block.5: /dev/sda
>> block.5.1: /dev/sda geo
dev = /dev/sda, fd = 4
open ok, fd = 4
/dev/sda: ioctl(geo) ok
/dev/sda: ioctl(block size) ok
/dev/sda: ioctl(disk size) ok
>> block.5.2: /dev/sda serial

Size of disk is 1 TB.

$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0008c768

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 134 1076323+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 135 389 2048287+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 390 121601 973635390 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 390 121601 973635327 83 Linux

Boot partition is mounted on /dev/sda1

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 15 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Product Name: DG41TY
Version: AAE47335-203
Serial Number: AZTY911006G6
Asset Tag: To be filled by O.E.M.
Features:
Board is a hosting board
Board is replaceable
Location In Chassis: To be filled by O.E.M.
Chassis Handle: 0x0003
Type: Motherboard
Contained Object Handles: 0

Handle 0x0024, DMI type 10, 6 bytes
On Board Device Information
Type: Video
Status: Enabled
Description: Intel(R) GMA X4500 Video Device

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 14 Mar 2010, 23:09

You should try with a completely different partition / filesystem. Grub2 may be unable to read that filesystem for some reason (bug in the code, or filesystem not clean, ...). Or just recreate the filesystem on your /boot partition if you prefer. You can use savefs + restfs in fsarchiver to backup + restore.

mir
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 20:23

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby mir » 15 Mar 2010, 00:51

admin wrote:You should try with a completely different partition / filesystem. Grub2 may be unable to read that filesystem for some reason (bug in the code, or filesystem not clean, ...). Or just recreate the filesystem on your /boot partition if you prefer. You can use savefs + restfs in fsarchiver to backup + restore.

- Created a new partition and to eliminate all file system problems used ext2 as file system.
- Tried every possible kernel both i 1.4.0 and 1.5.0-beta8

But the result was exactly the same: Error. Cannot read the Linux header.

Any other suggestions?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 15 Mar 2010, 07:58

You can always reinstall grub2 by running "grub-install /dev/xxx", or downgrade grub2 to a versions which marked as stable ("lenny-backports" on debian). You can also check that all the packages related to grub are consistent (grub-common + grub-pc + grub2). It's possible to have forgetten one of these packages when you upgraded to 1.98.

mir
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 20:23

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby mir » 15 Mar 2010, 17:41

admin wrote:You can always reinstall grub2 by running "grub-install /dev/xxx", or downgrade grub2 to a versions which marked as stable ("lenny-backports" on debian). You can also check that all the packages related to grub are consistent (grub-common + grub-pc + grub2). It's possible to have forgetten one of these packages when you upgraded to 1.98.

Tried reinstalling grub but still the same error.

Dawn-grading to 1.97 from Lenny-backports did not make it work either. Instead I was seeing a new error message: wrong magic number.

mir
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 20:23

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby mir » 15 Mar 2010, 18:06

admin wrote:It's possible to have forgetten one of these packages when you upgraded to 1.98.

Not a possibility is Debian since grub2 depends on grub-pc which depends on grub-common.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 15 Mar 2010, 19:37

I know a buggy BIOS can break the boot loader. I have seen such problems for isolinux, it must also be true for Grub. So maybe you can see if there is a new BIOS for your motherboard.

mir
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 20:23

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby mir » 15 Mar 2010, 20:50

admin wrote:I know a buggy BIOS can break the boot loader. I have seen such problems for isolinux, it must also be true for Grub. So maybe you can see if there is a new BIOS for your motherboard.

Upgraded my BIOS to lastest release dated 2010/03/10 but I still see exactly the same errors:-\
I have run out of ideas so I will rest my case for now.

dimm0k
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Apr 2010, 15:34

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby dimm0k » 17 Apr 2010, 15:51

From reading the docs on setting up the SystemRescueCD on a USB stick, I've managed to get GRUB2 to boot off the ISO with the following:

menuentry "SystemRescueCD 1.5.2 (default)" {
loopback loop (hd0,2)/systemrescuecd-x86-1.5.2.iso
linux (loop)/isolinux/rescuecd usbstick setkmap=us isoloop=/systemrescuecd-x86-1.5.2.iso
initrd (loop)/isolinux/initram.igz
}

However in QEMU this does not give me the blue bootup screen that you get when you boot SystemRescueCD off a CD, but instead it begins with the "Decompressing Linux ..." message and boots me into SystemRescueCD itself. Is there anything I'm missing to get the boot menu while running off a USB stick that you'd get when running of a CD?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 18 Apr 2010, 19:34

With this method you directly boot the kernel so you don't execute the isolinux/syslinux boot loader which displays the blue menu.

donnie
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 23:33

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby donnie » 23 Apr 2010, 12:49

I am fan of SystemRescueCD and GRUB2, I have exactly that same problem

http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php? ... 68#p115768

donnie
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 23:33

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby donnie » 23 Apr 2010, 20:14

I've searched and tried hard, and found solution to our problems:

http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=20450

quiller
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 09:15

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby quiller » 27 Apr 2010, 09:19

admin wrote:With this method you directly boot the kernel so you don't execute the isolinux/syslinux boot loader which displays the blue menu.


And if I understand well, there is no way to get the blue isolinux menu from an iso boot with grub2? It would be nice to see the same menu as when booting from USB or CD.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2715
Joined: 17 Jul 2003, 09:44

Re: SystemRescueCD boot iso from within grub2

Postby admin » 27 Apr 2010, 14:39

It's a completely different configuration file. We can try to do something similar with Grub.
But I want to keep isolinux for the official version, just because I don't think we can show different menus (when you press F2, F3, ...) with Grub, and it's quite important to provide documentation for various boot options.


Return to “Boot problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests