Dialog borders drawing as accented characters

You can report problems, make suggestions, about the new BETA versions in this forum. For stuff related to final releases, please post a message in other forums
rdg
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 17:56

Dialog borders drawing as accented characters

Postby rdg » 03 Aug 2013, 18:04

Using 3.7.1 if I run dialog or whiptail on a console the box characters do not render as lines, but instead as mostly accented letter characters. This is from booting with the default US keymap. This used to work in the past. Affects built in scripts like net-setup.

Running these in an xterm works correctly, but I don't have the option to run X in my normal usage.

gernot
Posts: 1127
Joined: 07 Apr 2010, 16:19

Re: Dialog borders drawing as accented characters

Postby gernot » 03 Aug 2013, 19:47

I can't second this. The box characters are ok.
Use you a virtual PC or the serial console?
Tested with key set 41(us) and some other.

Gernot

rdg
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 17:56

Re: Dialog borders drawing as accented characters

Postby rdg » 05 Aug 2013, 22:03

This bug is related to the framebuffer video mode somehow. On an older computer I see a colorfull grub boot menu, and whiptail works fine on a console.

But on my brand new hardware I get a gray/black boot menu and then whiptail produces bad borders.

Does that point to the issue?

Thanks,

Rob

rdg
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 17:56

Re: Dialog borders drawing as accented characters

Postby rdg » 06 Aug 2013, 16:54

If I run

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/consolefont restart
the problem is fixed.

So there is some issue with the init scripts that is only exercised on some systems.

This thread had some background that might help: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/30228

Thanks,

Rob


Return to “Beta versions (report a bug found in a beta)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests